What Should I Do if I’m Charged with DUI in Arizona?
Our Mesa AZ Criminal Defense Law Firm Offers Step-By-Step Advice
If you have been charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in Arizona, the consequences can be severe if you're convicted of this serious charge. Depending on whether you have been convicted of DUI in the past and how high your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was, you could be fined hundreds or thousands of dollars, lose your driver's license and even be imprisoned for several days, months or years.
That's why it's important that you fully understand how the legal process works in Arizona and what are your available legal options. The actions you take immediately after you have been charged with DUI can affect you for the rest of your life. That's why we created this step-by-step guide for what to do if you have been charged with drunk driving in Arizona.
Our DUI criminal defense attorneys at Brown, Naegle, Crider & Jensen, LLC have decades of experience handling such complicated legal cases, including "Extreme DUI," "Super Extreme DUI" and aggravated DUI charges in Arizona.
Our legal team understands the seriousness of such charges and what's at stake. That's why we want to help you every step of the way. Contact us and schedule an appointment at one of our 11 offices statewide, including offices in Mesa, Scottsdale, Phoenix and Tucson.
What You Should Do
If you have been charged with drunk driving in Arizona, we strongly urge you to take the following steps:
- Keep your comments to a minimum - This applies the second you're stopped for suspicion of drunk driving in Arizona. Anything you say or do can be used as evidence against you in a court of law.
- Be polite - At all times during your interactions with law enforcement officials, it is important to be courteous and polite. Saying things like "Sir" or "Ma'am" might seem minor, but it can often make a dramatic difference in how police treat you.
- Do not take a field sobriety test - Many police officers who stop people under suspicion of DUI ask drivers to take a field sobriety test. This includes the "Walk and Turn" (WAT) test, "One Leg Stand" (OLS) and Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus (HGN). None of these tests are mandatory, and you are perfectly within your rights to refuse. We strongly urge you to not take these tests, even if you're completely sober.
- You can challenge your test results - Just because you failed a DUI breath test or blood test does not mean that you have to accept the results of such tests. In many cases, test results are considered inadmissible in court for several reasons, including:
- Blood or breath test administered incorrectly
- Equipment defective or improperly maintained
- Breath test produces false reading
- Challenge your license suspension - If you have been charged with DUI in Arizona, the arresting officer will likely send the information about your arrest to the Arizona Department of Motor Vehicles. The DMV then has the power to suspend your driver's license. If the DMV does so, you will receive a Corrective Action Notice in the mail notifying you that your driver's license will be suspended for 90 days if you do not request an administrative hearing within 15 days of receiving your Corrective Action Notice. Request an administrative hearing. Challenge your suspension. And make sure you contact us. We can help you every step of the way.
- Contact our law firm - The sooner you have an experienced attorney working with you on your case, the more likely you will be able to deal with every legal challenge you face after your DUI arrest. You cannot afford to take chances with your future. The penalties for a DUI conviction are too severe. Make sure you give yourself the best opportunity for justice. Make sure you contact our law firm as soon as possible, day or night, 24 hours a day. We're here for you.